Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Coastal Plain League Announces Home Run Derby Participants for 2019 All-Star Showdown

Coastal Plain League Announces Home Run Derby Participants for 2019 All-Star Showdown

The Coastal Plain League has announced the six participants for the modified home run derby that will determine the seeding for the six-team All-Star Showdown, July 7-8 in Savannah, Ga. at Historic Grayson Stadium. The derby will start at 6 p.m. ET and be followed by the two quarterfinal games that evening. 

There will be six total teams in this tournament style format with one team representing each of our divisions, and a fan vote team being comprised of all CPL players. The sixth team will be made up of six Savannah Banana players as the host team and six people from the community of Savannah. 

Sunday kicks off the event at 6 p.m. ET when one participant from each team will take part in a modified home run derby that will determine seeding for the tournament. From there the #1 and #2 seeded teams automatically advance to Monday's semi-final matchup and the #3-#6 seeds face off in two back-to-back three inning games. The winner of each matchup will move on to face the #1 and #2 seeds in the semi-finals on Monday starting at 6 p.m. ET, with the winners of those matchups ultimately facing each other there after in Monday's Championship game to follow. All games will be three innings in length. 

The modified derby gives each participant two minutes to hit from four places on the field: just behind second base on the grass where they will toss it to themself, at second base where they will hit off a tee, just in front of the pitcher's mound where they receive a soft toss from a coach and finally at home plate where they will hit off a coach throwing from the mound. They must hit a home run at each station before they can move on to the next. Participants can then stay at home plate and hit as many home runs there as they can until their time runs out. The player with the most home runs earns the number one seed for his team and so on and so forth down the line to complete the seeding. 

The Derby Participants for each team will be:

Hometown Savannah - Ethan Baucom / Savannah / UNC-Pembroke

East Division All-Stars - Chris Crabtree / Holly Springs / Duke

West Division All-Stars - Kendall McGowan / Forest City / Appalachian State

North Division All-Stars - Tyler Riebock / Martinsville / Ouachita Baptist

Fan Vote Division All-Stars - Myles Christian / HP-Thomasville / Middle Tennessee

South Division All-Stars - Gabe Howell / Savannah / Bryan College

The 2019 Coastal Plain League All-Star Showdown will be televised nationally to over 40 million households, as well as streamed via Stay tuned to and for all future Coastal Plain League All-Star Showdown related announcements. Those interested in purchasing tickets can contact the Savannah Bananas at 912-712-2482. 

About Coastal Plain League: 

The Coastal Plain League is the nation's premier summer collegiate baseball league. Heading into its 23rd season in 2019, the CPL features 16 franchises playing in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. To date, the CPL has had over 1,600 alumni drafted and 124 alums – including 2017 ALCS MVP, 2017 World Series champion, 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young award winner Justin Verlander, as well as 2017 NLCS MVP Chris Taylor – make their Major League debut. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at, and be sure to follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat @CPLBaseball.