Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Coastal Plain League Announces Six Umpires for 2019 All-Star Showdown in Savannah

Coastal Plain League Announces Six Umpires for 2019 All-Star Showdown in Savannah

The Coastal Plain League has announced the umpires for the 2019 All-Star Showdown and Game July 7-8 in Savannah, Ga. at Historic Grayson Stadium, home of the Savannah Bananas.

The six All-Star umpires will be Chad Westlake (Home Plate), Josh Michael (First Base), Sam Clark (Second Base), Nelson Fraley (Third Base), Geoff Lawhorn (Left Field) and Jaylen Goodman (Right Field.)

This marks the twelfth group of umpires to come from the MiLB UD reserve list to work the Coastal Plain League All-Star Game. MiLB UD, a Minor League Baseball wholly owned subsidiary, has been partnered with the CPL since 2008, allowing umpires to continue developing their skills in a competitive environment, while waiting for the call from MiLB UD to sign a professional contract and move on to work Minor League Baseball games. Over 182 CPL umpires have moved onto the Minors with four having gone on to the Majors in the eleven years of the CPL-MiLB UD agreement.

"Minor League Baseball is extremely excited about our partnership with the Coastal Plain League," said Minor League Umpire Development Director Dusty Dellinger. "We could not have a better environment for our future professional umpires to train and gain such valuable experience."

MiLB UD is responsible for the training, evaluation and recommendation for promotion, retention or release of all umpires in the Minor League Baseball system throughout the United States and Canada. 

The 2019 Coastal Plain League All-Star Showdown will be televised nationally to over 30 million households, as well as streamed live on and the Coastal Plain League's website. Stay tuned to and for all future Coastal Plain League All-Star Showdown related announcements. Those interested in purchasing tickets can contact the Savannah Bananas at 912-712-2482. 

About Coastal Plain League: 

The Coastal Plain League is the nation's premier summer collegiate baseball league. Heading into its 23rd season in 2019, the CPL features 16 franchises playing in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. To date, the CPL has had over 1,600 alumni drafted and 124 alums – including 2017 ALCS MVP, 2017 World Series champion, 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young award winner Justin Verlander, as well as 2017 NLCS MVP Chris Taylor – make their Major League debut. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at, and be sure to follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat @CPLBaseball.