Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2019 Coastal Plain League Schedule Announced!

2019 Coastal Plain League Schedule Announced!

The Coastal Plain League has announced its schedule for the 2019 summer season. Celebrating its twenty-third season, the CPL will feature 16 teams across Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia.

For a pdf of the full 2019 CPL schedule, please click here.

The regular season starts on Thursday, May 30 and runs through August 3. The league's annual All-Star Game will be held July 7-8 with the host city being announced in the coming weeks. 

Continuing with the structure that was created last season, the league will be split into four divisions - North, South, East and West - with four teams being in each. The North is made up of the Edenton Steamers, Martinsville Mustangs, Peninsula Pilots and Wilson Tobs, while the South is the Florence RedWolves, Lexington County Blowfish, Macon Bacon and Savannah Bananas. Meanwhile in the East, it is the Fayetteville SwampDogs, Holly Springs Salamanders, Morehead City Marlins and Wilmington Sharks with the West being made up of the Asheboro Copperheads, Gastonia Grizzlies, High Point-Thomasville HiToms and Forest City Owls.

All together, each team will play a 52-game regular season schedule, with 26 games per club in the first half and another 26 in the second half. Like in years past, the schedule will have a large concentration on divisional games but will also feature an unbalanced look.

The Petitt Cup Playoffs will again consist of three rounds beginning on August 4 and running through August 10. Last year the Morehead City Marlins claimed their first ever CPL Petitt Cup Championship beating the High Point-Thomasville HiToms in the Championship Series.

About Coastal Plain League:

The Coastal Plain League is the nation's premier summer collegiate baseball league. Heading into its 23rd season in 2019, the CPL features 16 franchises playing in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia.  To date, the CPL has had over 1,450 alumni drafted and 118 alums – including 2017 ALCS MVP, 2017 World Series champion, 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young award winner Justin Verlander, as well as 2017 NLCS MVP Chris Taylor – make their Major League debut.  For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at, and be sure to follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat @CPLBaseball.