Tobs Rattle Snakes

Updated July 07 2016

After dropping five of their last six, the Wilson Tobs stifled the Asheboro Copperheads 7-3 from McCrary Park on Thursday.

Wilson started things off nicely when Logan Baldwin scored on a CJ Ballard single. The Georgia Southern pair have knocked each other in twice on the season.


However, in the bottom of the inning TJ Nichting (Charlotte) scored Ryan Colombo (Drury) to tie the game on a fielder’s choice.


After the first, Jeff Thompson (Belmont Abbey) rendered the Copperheads’ offensive venom impotent. Thompson threw 90 pitches in six innings allowing only three hits and scoring six strikeouts.


The Tobs offense surged in the fifth inning when Justin Dattilo (UNC-Pembroke) blasted a bomb to unlock the tie. Wilson would round five more runs in the inning to take the lead 7-1.


Tyler Howsley (UC-San Diego), Baldwin, Ballard, Ryan Cleveland (Georgia Southern) and Matt Eppers (Ball St.) all scored in the inning.


Wilson batted 11 in the frame and Dattilo collected all three of his RBIs in the fifth inning.


Asheboro tried to stage a comeback, but managed only two runs in the seventh off of two Tobs errors.


Jeff Thompson earns his first win as a starter, moving to 1-3, meanwhile Bradley Hallman collects the loss to fall to an identical record.


The Tobs move back to .500 with a record of 16-16 and return home tomorrow to face Morehead City in a battle for third in the East.


Tomorrow is Slugger’s Birthday, Mascot Mania, and the BB&T Friday 500. Come bring the kids to see some of their favorite fuzzy mascot friends.

The Wilson Tobs are proud to announce this upcoming year will be our 20th Anniversary Season within the Coastal Plain League. As an original member of the Coastal Plain League, the modern day Tobs have been lucky enough to celebrate each memorable season with the warm embrace of the Wilson community. We would like to dedicate each successful season to the Wilson Community, Coastal Plain League Organization, Host Families, Sponsors Partners, and the Dedicated Fans throughout the city of Wilson. Due to this tremendous support we have implemented multiple discounts, promotions, and benefits for the Tobs 20th Anniversary to show our appreciation. You can check out what we have in store this summer by clicking this link.

The Coastal Plain League is the nation’s premier summer collegiate baseball league. Celebrating its 22nd season in 2018, the CPL features 16 teams playing in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. The CPL has had over 1,450 alumni drafted and 109 of those – including 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young winner Justin Verlander – make their Major League debut; while another notable alum – Russell Wilson – won Super Bowl XLVIII. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at and follow us via Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat @CPLBaseball..


Drew Blevins


(252) 291-8627