Sharks Top SwampDogs at Home

Updated July 06 2017

The Sharks and SwampDogs met for the sixth time this season at Buck Hardee Field. Fayetteville had won the first five contests until the red hot Sharks held the visitors in check 4-1.

In the top of the first, Andrew Henrickson singled to left field with two outs. Henrickson then advanced on a balk by Sharks starter Jonathan Jahn. On the next pitch, Jayson Newman singled into center for the SwampDogs only run of the contest. Wilmington would answer in the bottom half of the frame. Justin Dean was walked to lead off the inning. Dean then stole second and came around to score on an RBI double by Michael Sandle.

The first inning ended on two unusual plays for the Sharks. With runners on the corners and no outs, Trevor McCutchin lined a fastball off of his teammate Luke Morgan at first, so Morgan was ruled out. Then with two outs, McCutchin stole second; on the throw down Michael Sandle took off towards home but was called out because the hitter, Thatcher Coleman, interfered with the play by not leaving the batters box.

In the bottom of the second, Ward Coleman and Dayton Dugas reached base and were at second and third with no outs after the throwing error by Fayetteville’s shortstop, Jose Rojas. Dan Wilson, hit a sacrifice fly into right field to easily score Coleman from third. Dugas scored later in the inning on a wild pitch by Fayetteville starter Dallas Oliver.

The mid third of the contest went by with neither team truly causing a real threat.  However, in the sixth, Wilmington put together singles by Thatcher Coleman and Dayton Dugas with two outs and Justin Dean coming to the plate. The Sharks centerfielder singled into right to add another run over insurance.

Colt Springs and Ryan Hedrick combined for a scoreless 6th, 7th and 8th innings before turning the ball over to Sharks closer, Evan Brabrand for the save.

Jonathan Jahn (2-3) scored the win, Dallas Oliver (0-1) lost in his first start and Evan Brabrand earned save number 3.

Wilmington is now above 0.500 for the first this season. The Sharks are also 4-1 in the second half and 1-5 at home against Fayetteville.

The Sharks hit the road for the final time before the All-Star Break tomorrow. First pitch in Fayetteville is at 7:05 from The Swamp. Coverage begins at 6:50 with Sharks Pregame on the Sharks Radio Network.

The Coastal Plain League is the nation’s premier summer collegiate baseball league. Celebrating its 22nd season in 2018, the CPL features 16 teams playing in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. The CPL has had over 1,450 alumni drafted and 111 of those – including 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young winner Justin Verlander – make their Major League debut; while another notable alum – Russell Wilson – won Super Bowl XLVIII. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at and follow us via Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat @CPLBaseball..


Sam Rubinoff