Sharks Split Doubleheader in Wilson

Updated June 30 2017

It was an eventual night in Wilson, North Carolina that saw it all in nearly six hours of baseball. The Sharks won Game 1 8-7 in extra innings; while the Tobs held on to win 6-3 in Game 2.

Wilmington started from the onset in the first of two contests at Fleming Stadium.  The Sharks scored a run in the first on Trevor McCutchin’s RBI single and then again in the second on Thatcher Coleman’s solo home run to left field.

The Sharks added 2 more runs in the 3rd inning of Game 1. Trevor McCutchin doubled into right center field to drive home Michael Sandle. Then, Riley Knudsen singled into right field to plate McCutchin and the Sharks led 4-0. From that point on, Wilmington’s bats went cold against Tobs reliever Jakob Ryan until the 7th inning.

Wilson scored two runs in the 4th and two more in the 5th to tie the game heading to the sixth in. In the bottom of the sixth, Austin Fisher singled to drive home Roberto Rivera to give Wilson its first lead of Game 1.

In the 7th inning, Dayton Dugas reached base on a pinch-hit single with one out. After two straight walks, Luke Morgan grounded out to first base to score Dugas to tie the game at 5. Then with two outs, Trevor McCutchin singled into left field to drive home his third and fourth runs of the game to put the Sharks on top 7-5. In the bottom of the inning, Colt Springs allowed a 2-run home run to Tanner Johnson in the 7th to send the game to extras.

In the top of the 9th with 2 outs, Luke Morgan singled to drive home Justin Dean and extend his hitting streak in his final plate appearance in Game 1. Colt Springs then stranded two runners on base to secure the Game 1 victory 8-7 in 9 innings for the Sharks.  Colt Springs (1-0) earned his first win and Hank Simpson (0-3) lost for the Tobs.

Game 2 was quite the opposite story for the visitors. This time the Tobs scored first in the second inning on an RBI single by Andre Nnebe. It was the right fielder’s second hit of the summer.

Then in the 3rd inning, Wilmington starter Jonathan Jahn was hit for 5 runs, 3 of which were earned on 4 hits and 2 errors to blow the game open for the Tobs. Wilson carried the 6 run lead all the way to the 6th inning, as the Sharks could not solve starter Sam Luchansky.

In the 6th, Luke Morgan doubled to right center to move his hitting streak to 12 games. A pitch with 2 outs then hit Dayton Dugas. Brian Parreira doubled home 2 runs to put the Sharks on the board 6-2.

In the 7th inning, Wilmington chased Luchansky on back-to-back singles by Cam Locklear and Justin Dean. Michael Sandle was then hit by a pitch by Ted Stuka to load the bases with nobody out and the tying run, Luke Morgan, coming to the plate. Morgan grounded out to first but a run scored to cut the deficit to 3. Then, Trevor McCutchin struck out swinging. Riley Knudsen was walked with 2 outs to put the tying run for the Sharks on at first base in the 7th. However, Dayton Dugas grounded out to end the game leaving Wilmington’s comeback bid just short.

In Game 2, Sam Luchansky (2-3) earned the win, Ted Stuka earned his first save and Jonathan Jahn (1-3) was the losing pitcher.

The Sharks remain on the road and travel to Fayetteville. First pitch is at 7:05 from the Swamp. Coverage on the Sharks Radio Network begins at 6:50 with Sharks Pregame.

The Coastal Plain League is the nation’s premier summer collegiate baseball league. Celebrating its 22nd season in 2018, the CPL features 16 teams playing in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. The CPL has had over 1,450 alumni drafted and 111 of those – including 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young winner Justin Verlander – make their Major League debut; while another notable alum – Russell Wilson – won Super Bowl XLVIII. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at and follow us via Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat @CPLBaseball..


Sam Rubinoff