Umpire Alumni


The Professional Baseball Umpire Corp (PBUC), a Minor League Baseball wholly owned subsidiary, entered into a working agreement to provide its reserve umpires to the Coastal Plain League in 2008. The agreement allows reserve list umpires to continue to develop their skills in a competitive environment, while waiting for the call from PBUC to work Minor League Baseball games. Prior to the start of the 2010 CPL season, the Coastal Plain League and PBUC extended its agreement through the 2015 CPL season.

“This is the first of its kind agreement and we are pleased to be working with the CPL in this capacity,” stated PBUC Executive Director Justin Klemm. “Future PBUC umpires will benefit greatly from gaining valuable experience in a Minor League-like setting, while performing umpiring duties for collegiate all-stars also looking to showcase their skills. Our evaluators will be out in force to ensure these individuals are receiving proper training as they continue on the path of becoming professional umpires.”

“PBUC is excited to have the opportunity to continue our successful relationship with the Coastal Plain League,” Klemm went on to say. “For the past three years we have experienced many benefits from our agreement. We have hired a higher quality umpire who is better prepared for the rigors of a professional baseball umpiring career. We look forward to working with the CPL staff to further the development of those umpires who take advantage of the experience that the Coastal Plain League and PBUC offer.”

Since 2008, 127 PBUC reserve umpires have gotten their start in the Coastal Plain League, with an impressive 95 of them moving on since to work games in Minor League Baseball.

We are very excited to reach an extension agreement between the Coastal Plain League and the PBUC,” said CPL President and Commissioner Pete Bock. “We have enjoyed working with Justin (Klemm) and his staff, as well as the reserve umpires during the first couple of years of our agreement. From talking with the umpires and the PBUC front office, it is apparent that our relationship is beneficial to both parties, and one we are excited to be continuing for several years to come. We feel that our quality of play and overall atmosphere will go a long way in helping the PBUC develop future Minor and Major League Baseball umpires.”

PBUC is responsible for the training, evaluation and recommendation for promotion, retention or release of all umpires in the Minor League Baseball system throughout the United States and Canada.

Below is the listing of PBUC reserve umpires that have come through the Coastal Plain League on their way to professional baseball, and their current status:

* - Denotes umpire who was called to work in Minor League Baseball but later retired.

Coastal Plain League PBUC Umpire Alumni
Umpire CPL Year(s) Current Status
Matthew Ball 2014 Coastal Plain League
Ryan Barneycastle 2014 Gulf Coast League
John Durante 2014 Coastal Plain League
Dave Hlavac 2014 Coastal Plain League
Vincent Jackson 2014 Coastal Plain League
Austin Jones 2014 Coastal Plain League
Tyler Jones 2014 Gulf Coast League
Tim Kreamer 2014 Coastal Plain League
Jose Matamoros 2014 Coastal Plain League
Justin Phillips 2014 Arizona League
Michael Rains 2014 Coastal Plain League
Darrell Roberts 2014 Coastal Plain League
Greg Roemer 2013-14 Gulf Coast League
Joe Schwartz 2014 Arizona League
Clayton Simmons 2013-14 Coastal Plain League
Matthew Smith 2014 Coastal Plain League
Nick Susie 2014 Coastal Plain League
Tim Towe 2013-14 Coastal Plain League
Dave Albertson 2013 Arizona League
Justin Anderson 2013 Coastal Plain League
Doug Becker 2013 Coastal Plain League
Matt Carlyon 2013 Gulf Coast League
Jesse Gonzalez 2012-13 Arizona League
Shane Hardy 2013 Gulf Coast League
Jordan Johnson 2013 Gulf Coast League
Ian Manlove 2013 Coastal Plain League
Josh Marshall 2013 Gulf Coast League
Joe Merchak 2013 Coastal Plain League
Ryan Powers 2013 Gulf Coast League
Brandin Sheeler 2013 Gulf Coast League
Matt Snodgrass 2013 Gulf Coast League
Robert Veloz 2013 Arizona League
Russ Weich 2013 Gulf Coast League
Chris Wood 2013 Arizona League
Justin Amit 2011-12 Coastal Plain League
Erich Bacchus 2012 Arizona League
Brock Ballou 2012 Coastal Plain League
Tucker Beneville 2012 Gulf Coast League
Nathan Caldwell 2012 Gulf Coast League
Andrew Chesnut 2012 Gulf Coast League
Jesse Estrada 2012 Retired
David Frame 2012 Coastal Plain League
Adrian Gonzalez 2012 Arizona League
Reid Joyner 2012 Coastal Plain League
Wyatt Lee 2012 Coastal Plain League
Brad Polk 2011-12 Gulf Coast League
George Reidel 2012 Gulf Coast League
Richard Riley 2012 Gulf Coast League
Josh Root 2011-12 Arizona League
Nick Thul 2012 Coastal Plain League
Kyle Wagner 2011-12 Coastal Plain League
Cody Waterhouse 2012 Arizona League
Cameron Westover 2011-12 Gulf Coast League
Chance Wilcott 2012 Coastal Plain League
Cameron Young 2012 Coastal Plain League
Josh Armstrong 2011 Coastal Plain League
Geoff Arnold* 2011 Retired
Evan Barger 2011 Arizona League
Zach Dart 2011 Coastal Plain League
Andrew Freed 2011 Gulf Coast League
Nick Garvey 2011 Gulf Coast League
Joe George 2011 Coastal Plain League
Martin Gerich 2010-11 Arizona League
Troy Gorra 2011 Coastal Plain League
Jimmy Lott 2011 Gulf Coast League
Mike Mazza 2011 Coastal Plain League
Matt Moore 2010-11 Arizona League
Farris Pierson 2011 Arizona League
Richard Riley 2011 Coastal Plain League
Randy Rosenberg 2011 Gulf Coast League
Jason Starkovich 2011 Gulf Coast League
Nate Tomlinson 2010-11 Arizona League
Sam Vogt 2011 Gulf Coast League
Jim Wells 2011 Retired
Sean Allen 2010 Arizona League
Jeffrey Andrews 2009-10 Midwest League
Nick Bayer* 2010 Retired
Ryan Benson 2010 Gulf Coast League
Jeff Bottoms* 2010 Retired
Charlie Clemons* 2010 Retired
TJ Cunningham* 2009-10 Retired
Tyler Curlis 2010 New York-Penn League
Ryan Farnsworth 2010 Coastal Plain League
Ben Guttenberger 2010 Midwest League
Ben Hughes* 2010 Retired
Mike Huus 2010 Pioneer League
Brad Kayholm 2010 Coastal Plain League
David Marcoe 2010 Pioneer League
Justin McPherson 2010 Coastal Plain League
Daniel Merzel 2010 Carolina League
Brian Miller 2010 South Atlantic League
Mitchell Morgan 2010 Arizona League
Mike O’Leary* 2010 Retired
James Rackley 2010 Midwest League
Fernando Rodgriguez 2010 Midwest League
Cameron Swallen 2010 Coastal Plain League
Ryan Thacker 2010 Coastal Plain League
Ryan Bealo 2009 South Atlantic League
Jamiel Benjamin 2009 Retired
Mike Cascioppo 2009 California League
Ryan Clark 2009 Florida State League
Chris Gonzalez 2009 California League
Matt Heersema 2009 California League
Ramon Hernandez 2009 Florida State League
Rene Hilbach-Barger* 2009 Retired
Dustin Klinghagen 2009 Midwest League
Ben Leake 2008-09 Carolina League
Shane Livensparger 2009 Florida State League
Robert Lothian* 2009 Retired
Corey Mattea* 2009 Retired
Roberto Ortiz 2009 Florida State League
Nick Painz* 2009 Retired
Rob Porter* 2009 Retired
Mitch Quandt* 2009 Retired
Dane Ratajski 2009 South Atlantic League
Aaron Reynolds* 2009 Retired
Jeremy Riggs 2009 Carolina League
Patrick Sampsell* 2009 Retired
John Silva* 2009 Retired
Taylor Treloar* 2009 Retired
Nate White 2009 California League
Matt McCoy 2008 Southern League
Asa Gaddy* 2008 Retired
Nicolas Lentz 2008 Eastern League
Jeff Woods 2008 Florida State League
Derek Mollica 2008 Southern League
John Bacon 2008 Southern League
Jose Rivera* 2008 Retired
Tyler Wolpert* 2008 Retired
Shaun Lampe 2008 Eastern League
Bryan Fields 2008 California League
Brian McCoy 2008 Retired
John Bostwick 2008 California League
Matthew Deane* 2008 Retired
Joseph Muenzer* 2008 Retired
Matt Mullins* 2008 Retired
Richard Gonzalez 2008 Carolina League
Kiff Kinkead 2008 Eastern League
Matt Springer 2008 Florida State League
Bryan Childe 2008 Retired
Blake Felix 2008 California League
Drew Holby 2008 Retired
Ed Leopold* 2008 Retired