Updated November 16 2012

Coastal Plain League Releases 2013 Schedule


The Coastal Plain League announced today its schedule for the 2013 summer season. Celebrating its 17th season in 2013, the CPL will again feature 14 teams across North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia.

For a pdf of the 2013 CPL schedule, please click here.

The regular season starts on Tuesday, May 28 and runs through Monday, August 5. The league’s annual All-Star Fan Fest and All-Star Game will be on July 7 and 8. The location of the 2013 CPL All-Star Game will be announced in the coming weeks.

The league will be split into two divisions - East and West - with seven teams in each. The East will be made up of the Edenton Steamers, Fayetteville SwampDogs, Morehead City Marlins, Peninsula Pilots, Petersburg Generals, Wilmington Sharks and Wilson Tobs. Meanwhile, the West will feature the Asheboro Copperheads, Columbia Blowfish, Florence RedWolves, Forest City Owls, Gastonia Grizzlies, Martinsville Mustangs and Thomasville HiToms.

All together, each team will play a 56-game regular season schedule, with 28 games per club in the first half and another 28 in the second half. Like in years past, the schedule will have a large concentration on divisional games but will also feature an unbalanced look.

The Petitt Cup Playoffs will again consist of three rounds beginning on August 7 and running through August 17. In all, eight CPL teams will make the postseason, including the first half and second half champions for both divisions, with the remaining teams qualifying as at-large bids. Seeding will be based on overall winning percentage at the end of the season with the team with the best winning percentage earning the top seed and so forth. Each series through all three rounds will be a best-of-three series. The lower seed (i.e. seeds 5-8) in each series will host game one, while the higher seed (i.e. seeds 1-4) will host game two and three (if necessary) in each round.

After the first round, the four remaining teams will match-up based on seeds, so if the top four seeds all advance to the second round, then the series would be No.1 vs. No.4 and No.2 vs. No.3. The two winners of those second round series will advance to the Petitt Cup Championship Series with the same rules applying as in the second round. The team winning two games in this series will be crowned the 2013 Coastal Plain League Petitt Cup Champion.

The Coastal Plain League is the nation’s hottest summer collegiate baseball league. Celebrating its 17th season in 2013, the CPL features 14 teams playing in North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia. The CPL gives college players the chance to refine their skills with the use of wooden bats. Players are housed with local host families for the summer and past experiences have been very positive for both players and hosts. Further more,the CPL has had over 1,000 alumni drafted and 57 alums – including 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young winner Justin Verlander – make their Major League debut thus far. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at www.coastalplain.com, and be sure to friend us on Facebook (at www.facebook.com/coastalplainleague) and follow us via Twitter (as CPLBaseball).


Justin Sellers


(919) 852-1960